Creativity Week: Milly Castle

11 Mar

Hi, this is Lilipop. Today’s type of creativity is poetry. Milly Castle has kindly let us show you some of her amazing peotry. I don’t know a lot about poetry but I know this is beyond brilliant. Before you read the poetry, let me introduce you to Milly.

My name is Milly Castle and I am 15 years old. I have written poetry since the age of 7, and have won many competitions where my poetry has been published in books sold nationwide. My poetry really took off at the age of 12 after my mother passed away as I found a stimulus to base my poetry on. Hence, my inspiration for all my poetry nowadays is feelings about grief, and what I think those that have departed from us would like to say. To me poetry is easy to write ,and is a way of expressing the emotions you find difficult to speak of verbally. Within a poem you can say anything you like and will not be judged, for poetry is a form of art that stems from the poets experiences.

DEPARTURE
The brightest star in the sky,
belongs to those that had to fly.
Fly beyond the world we see,
departing from you and me.
Letting go of those they love,
and watching over from above.
Keeping as memories in our heads,
for in our hearts they are not dead.

ALIVE

Do not treat me as if im dead
For I am a memory in your head
I am the sparkle in your eye
I am the wind that blows on by
I am the stars seen at night
I am the sun that brings you light
I am the snowflake in the tree
I am your angel and always will be
So do not treat me as if im dead
For I am a memory forever in your head

It would be great if you gals could comment on this post, your opinions and maybe some suggestion or submitions (for another creativity week or for another themed week altogether!). If you want to get in contact with us or any of our lovely creative guests then email Jellypop at jelly.pop@live.co.uk or for more contact information go to the Contact Us page

3 Responses to “Creativity Week: Milly Castle”

  1. lollclarke March 11, 2013 at 4:05 pm #

    Wow;) I know absolutely nothing about poetry but that first one almost made me cry a little bit:'(

  2. franchie March 12, 2013 at 8:12 pm #

    That was….. BEAUTIFUL :’) x

  3. jemima101 March 13, 2013 at 12:09 am #

    Alive is beautiful, a wonder way of capturing the fact some people never leave us.

Leave a Reply

