Learning to love the most important person

4 Apr

A few weeks ago I wrote a post called Lilipop’s Feminism. I said in that post that I finally feel comfortable in my own skin, and I do but obviously I don’t feel like that all of the time.

Sometimes you just feel shit. Nothing looks right, things stick out that aren’t meant to, things that are meant to stick out don’t stick out enough and everything is generally going wrong. It’s really hard to see the positives. Loving yourself or even liking the way you look seems to be beyond the horizon of possibility.

I’m not going to pretend that I know how to make you feel better and love yourself straight away because there is no quick fix for this, everyone is different and it is a long personal journey. However I wanted to show you something I say to the world when is getting me down and I hope it will help you start to love yourself:

I am not an object. I am not here for you to look at. I am not here to be “beautiful”. I am not here for you to want to have sex with me. I am not here for YOU.

If you don’ like what you see, DON’T LOOK. I am not going to change for you. Its none of YOUR business what I do with MY body. Its mine, not yours, why should you care?

I am here to be a person. I am here to have opinions. I am here to love. I am here to learn. I am here to laugh. I am here to be me.

I hope you can use this to help yourself and if you have your own thing you say to the world or anything you would like to add, we would live to hear it.

Leave a Reply

