My Feminist Society’s first meeting

24 Apr

So on Wednesday the 17th of April we had the first meeting of my school’s new Feminist Society (TFS)! As you can imagine I was OMJ SO EXCITED about this and I was right to be.

I only had a week to advertise the new femsoc at my school and we have 1500 students not including the Sixth Form which is another 600ish so advertising stuff is a NIGHTMARE!! I was fully expecting to be sitting in a room all by myself all lunch time so I made a few of my friends promise to come along. It turned out I didn’t need to worry because 15 people turned up despite me only putting the posters up that morning.

I made a powerpoint the night before about the basics of feminism which we looked at first at the meeting. I made the powerpoint into a video for you people.

After the powerpoint we had an amazing discussion about intersectionality and talked about sexism we had experienced and how it was wrong. There were lots of great ideas and IT WAS JUST SO FUN! A girl in the Sixth Form and I got a bit over excited and started shouting A LOT! It was amazing to talk to people in real life about feminism and get into proper discussions. I was really inpressed that everyone understood and kept up as well because most of them were not feminists before this meeting and about half were 13 years old or younger.

After the meeting I was just so happy, it was a great relief that it went well. When I got home from I looked on my twitter and discovered one of the Year 8’s (12-13) had written a blog post about the meeting which was super sweet and I have spent the last week “AAWWWWW”ing about it (here it is http://thestyledummy.wordpress.com/2013/04/17/twitter-youth-feminist-army-woooo/).

We had the next meeting today which was also a success. Here is the powerpoint from today https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PUBcACsSIhI. As a result of todays meeting we MIGHT start a society blog but I will keep you updated.

4 Responses to “My Feminist Society’s first meeting”

  1. PlanetCunt April 25, 2013 at 7:35 am #

    Lili, this is amazing stuff! Remember when you first joined twitter? Now you’re changing the world just like we always knew you would.
    Really proud of you and your friends who are out there talking to young women.
    Brilliant xxxx

    • jellypopblogger April 25, 2013 at 8:19 pm #

      Hey Cath/Pavs,
      It feel like ages and ages ago but I joined twitter less than a year ago, you have both been so amazing helping me learn stuff. Im not sure about changing the world but I hope I can help as many people as possible!
      xxxxxx

  2. townleygrammarblogs May 12, 2013 at 7:13 pm #

    Reblogged this on Townley Feminist Society and commented:
    This is by Lilinaz from Jellypop who also wrote about our first meeting and has made videos of all the powerpoints we have watched.

  3. abondance June 9, 2013 at 7:03 pm #

    oh my god this is amazing! i really love this and i wish their was something like it at my school oh wow. i’m proud that there are things like this, i hope it lasts.
    x

Leave a Reply

