Its about the the Choice!

2 May

So as you might have guessed from my previous posts or if you follow me on twitter, I am totally pro-body hair and here is why:

Its really cool, you can plait it, dye it and all sorts of fun stuff!

Its a two fingered salute to the Patriarchy (and you don’t even have to do anything!!)

It gets really softie and nice when you grow it out as well.

Its like wearing an extra pair of tights when its cold but it doesn’t make you too hot in summer because human hair is hollow.

Money spent on hair removal cream —> Money spent on CHOCOLATE (or other treats)

Its the way all the cool people know who the other cool people are.

Time spent scraping hair off my body —> Time spent blogging! (or reading or watching TV or knitting micro bunnies)

THERE ARE LITTERALLY SO MANY REASONS

“BUT LILIPOP” I hear you say “Stop being such a yucky feminist, I don’t like my leg hair. Its ITCHY”

Well dear Reader. You do make an excellent point. You don’t have to grow your body hair, you may not like it, it might be ichy, you might like having smooth skin or there might not be a reason why you like to shave (or wax or epilate or tweeze…) and that is fine. Although I think body hair is cool as several cucumbers if you don’t like it then you do what the hell you want with your body! If shaving makes you feel like a rad chick then you do that sister! If you like spending some quality time with yourself by waxing away those wisps of underarm hair then well done, I admire your pain threashold.

The point of growing my body hair is not only about having body hair but about the CHOICE (isn’t that a brilliant word?). That is the secret behind most of feminism. The Patriarchy gives us little boxes we must fit into if we are to be “beautiful” or wanted and so the choice we are given is not between how we want our body hair to be but between societal acceptance. You might not want to walk down the street in shorts with your leg hair swaying in the wind but you SHOULD have the right to choose to. I want to have the option of growing all the hair on my body to look like a yeti and I want the option of having every single little hair lazered off my body. I might not use all those options and I might not go to such extreames (although yetis are amazing) but I want to be able to CHOOSE without isolation, without embaressment, without harrassment and without shame.

Now I’m off to plait my leg hair…

4 Responses to “Its about the the Choice!”

  1. + Yvonne Aburrow (@vogelbeere) May 2, 2013 at 4:15 pm #

    High five!

    Have you seen Armpits for August? It’s awesome!

  2. pinkapplejuice May 2, 2013 at 5:57 pm #

    Reblogged this on Project Naked and commented:
    An excellent post we just had to share

  3. Anonymous. May 10, 2013 at 10:00 am #

    Hiya, I just wrote about this yesterday, I’m thinking about dying underarm hair purple or maybe braiding it with beads when it’s a bit longer…

    • jellypopblogger May 12, 2013 at 9:01 am #

      That would be soooooo cool! I deffo approve of the colour choice. My only query with beads are they may get caught in clothes and that would HURT!! Maybe braid it with embroidery thread or tiny ribbon?

Leave a Reply

