Grrrrl Power playlist

16 May

Hey. Here’s a playlist all about feelin’ good, rockin’ out and just generally being one bad-ass girl.

This one was one of three Lili made for anyone who came along to Rookie Meet-Up 2012 (which I don’t go to anymore because Rookie is problematic but that’s another story)(anyway it’s a really good playlist).

Without further ado, let the excellently chosen music begin! I have thoughtfully included YouTube links for each song, for your listening pleasure m’dears. Start rocking!

  1. Mr Big Stuff
  2. Hot Topic
  3. Bloody Mother Fucking Arsehole
  4. Respect Yourself
  5. No-One’s Little Girl
  6. 32 Flavours
  7. None Of Your Business

The others are called Feministing Around Town and Nina (because we all gotta love Nina Simone), and I think I’ll post them over the next couple of days. Have fun gals!

3 Responses to “Grrrrl Power playlist”

  1. Gemma May 17, 2013 at 12:53 am #

    What’s your problem with rookie? Not angry/trolling or anything, but just wondering?

  2. jellypopblogger May 18, 2013 at 7:22 pm #

    Well, Rookie is pretty great because it is a soft-core feminist, accessible teen blog with a lot of fun and positive ideas, and for a while I REALLY REALLY liked it. But as I have become more knowledgeable, I have found some problems with it. One is that it mainly features white, cis and straight skinny girls, and although this is partly understandable because the founder of Rookie is one herself, I feel that it could do more to include people from other viewpoints. Another is that it has teamed up with Urban Outfitters, which again is something I used to like, but UO have a terrible rep regarding cultural appropriation, objectification and lots of shit like that. I mean, Rookie is cute, and I feel I’ve been a bit harsh about it in this post (even in my brief mention of it!) but it could do more and be better. Then again, Tavi is only 17, and it’s great that something even slightly feminist is getting so much press. Sigh. It’s hard, and I’ve definitely ranted, but make up your own mind!

    • Gemma May 19, 2013 at 1:41 pm #

      I can see what you mean. It’s taken me a while to realise some of this. I think that it’s a good website and I LOVE it’s articles, but that there’s a huge matter of not practicing what they preach. There are lovely articles about loving who you are and how you look, but as someone who has recently recovered from mild anorexia I can’t look at their photo shoots because I’m triggered by the huge majority of the models being very thin. Not sure where I stand on cultural appropriation because on one hand you can’t just cheapen someones culture and struggles and use it as a fashion accessory but on the other hand it seems ridiculous to be like ‘ok you are only allowed to wear clothes that belong to your culture/race’. Thanks for replying.

Leave a Reply

