Inspiration: Teachers

24 Jul

Hi, this is Lilipop back. This post is probably going to sound really cheesy and asdfuhjkllkgrxrcv because who actually looks up to their teachers and thinks they’re inspirational? Its something I hear people on TV and grown ups say all the time but I don’t know many people my own age who truly think that of their teachers. Its not the teachers faults, in these times of cuts and total disregard for public sector workers, teachers are stretched to their limits with grown class sizes, diminishing pay and pitiful resources but that is the subject for a whole new blog post.

So this year I got a new English teacher, who is definitely the best English teacher I have ever has and certainly in the running for the best English teacher ever in the history of the world. I was never great at English and I have never particularly liked, let alone enjoyed, English until the last few years due to disinterest and mild dyslexia but this year English has been my favourite subject and I have gone up three grades. I even briefly considered an A level in English literature. I know you are meant to pick subjects because you are good/interested in them not because you like the teacher but honestly, a good teacher makes or breaks a subject.

My English teacher is and amazing teacher for many reasons. One of them is, she lets her pupils have their own opinions. So many teachers I have had just talk at you and just tell you what you need to know to pass whatever test or target. In my English class this year we discuss the topics we are learning and if we have differing opinions, as long as you can justify them, then its okay, even encouraged. We get treated as individuals with their own minds and ideas in English; we are allowed to make our own decisions as to how we approach subjects and allowed to work in our own ways. Although it can sound pretty basic when written like that but it is quite rare in my experience. Not only is my English teacher an amazing educator but she is also a brilliant person. Point in action: she was the one who got me into Buffy the Vampire Slayer- which you all should watch. My friends and I would talk to her of ages after lessons about Buffy or various other TV shows and she would always back me up when I said how damaging and generally shit the Twilight Saga is. She is funny and always tries to be honest.

I really couldn’t ask for a better teacher. This year has been an amazing experience, I have learned so much and I am devastated my teacher is leaving. I hope she has an amazing time at her new school but no other teacher will be able to replace her.

4 Responses to “Inspiration: Teachers”

  1. abondance July 24, 2013 at 9:55 pm #

    i can relate to this post so much. i had the best ever english teacher for two years who appreciated class discussions and encouraged us to develop our opinions on important things, but now she’s left and it kind of hurts that i won’t see her again. she definitely inspired me because she’s a brilliant teacher as well as person.
    my new english teacher is one of those who talks at you and that sucks.
    x

    • jellypopblogger July 26, 2013 at 8:11 pm #

      This is Lilipop, I am totally feeling you. Not looking forward to my new teacher 😦

  2. vishalbheeroo August 2, 2013 at 7:48 am #

    Hey, this what great and awesome teachers are all about. saw ur profile and link on The Observer on your fight for feminism and simply love ur blog.
    Cheerz
    V

  3. Gal August 17, 2013 at 9:31 am #

    Ironically pretty much the same thing happened to me this year at school! Our english teacher was amazing she would give us her opinion on different subjects unlike most other teachers. She told us that slut shaming was not okay even though our school seemed to think it was. I was so upset when she left as i’d hoped that she would take us for our final gcse year. I regard quite a few teachers at my school as rolemodels and she definitely is one of them

Leave a Reply

